I Solisti Filarmonici Italiani are one of the world’s leading chamber ensembles/orchestras.

The peculiar tradition of Italian sound and virtuosity established in 1950 by I Virtuosi di Roma and since than worldwide appreciated among others by the critics of The New York Times, The Washington Post, Il Corriere della Sera, Diapason, CD Classica, Gramophone, Amadeus, The New York Times, Suddeutsche Zeitung continues until today with the newly-founded and named group.

The orchestra’s membership is comprised exclusively of leaders and first solo parts from the major italian orchestras and international competitions winners.

They play a repertoire from the string Sextet to the String Orchestra always without conductor.

Worthy of special mention in their wide activities are the successful appearances in New York, Washington, Chicago, Cleveland, Boston, Buenos Aires, San Paolo, Rio de Janeiro, Amsterdam, Berlin, Bonn, Munich, Vienna, Paris, Madrid, Milan, Rome, Istanbul, Taipei, Seoul, Hong Kong, Tokyo, and Osaka touring with friends as Kathleen Battle, Hansjorg Schellenberger, Milan Turkovic, Michala Petri, Mstislav Rostropovic, Paul Badura-Skoda, Charlotte Margiono, Andrea Griminelli etc.

Their extensive discography comprises recordings with Denon Nippon Columbia, Altus Music, Stradivarius, Velut Luna, Decca and CPO.

Recent recording activities include the complete works for String Orchestra by Grieg, a selection of rare scores (Stage and Film music) in autograph versions by N.Rota and E.Morricone, a collection of unpublished Italian Virtuoso pieces for Strings of the XIX century, the String Octet and the Piano Sextet by Mendelssohn, a selection of famous Italian Baroque pieces transcribed for string orchestra by Respighi and Zandonai and a Decca recording with the flutist Andrea Griminelli.

Future plans include the complete works for Strings by Tchaikovsky with CPO.Moreover the group plays regularly in many European countries (Italy, Austria, Germany, Spain) and every two years is touring extensively Usa, South America, Japan, China and Corea.